How Father Sky became the Houseless Wanderer: Astromythology and Uranus (Part 1)

That Astrologer, Fairlie Theta
5 min readJan 25, 2021
D’Aurlaires, 1962

I’m often asked for recommendations on where to get started with astrology. What are my favourite books, authors, websites, apps? I have a go-to list that I recommend to anyone looking to really dive in–books by Isabel Hickey, Noel Tyl, a handful of podcasts and YouTube lectures. It can be a dense field at best (and complete fluff at worst), and I know it’s tricky to sift through resources. But if we’re being honest, it’s not how I got started.

Human beings learn best through narrative. We remember best through narrative as well, and creating stories around the systems in our lives helps us remember all the moving parts. Astrology is no different. It comes with a wealth of stories to help us unravel many of the complex meanings within. Those stories were a large part of my introduction to astrology, as part of my third grade literature curriculum.

I’m talking about mythology.

You’ve probably realized that most astral bodies are named after mythological figures. The traditional planets of astrology–Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn–are all named for Roman gods, giving a good indication of their roles. But the real magic comes in when you apply this narrative system to the relationships between each planet and other objects in your chart. They add…

--

--

That Astrologer, Fairlie Theta

Fairlie Theta is a professional astrologer and a lifelong student of esoterica, marrying symbolism, semiotics, and psychology || See more at ThatAstrologer.com